New look councils


By Jessica Micallef

A mix of returning, former and new councillors will lead the Macedon Ranges for the next four years.

Three councillors were re-elected as Macedon Ranges’ residents voted to elect new faces to represent them.

In East ward, Annette Death was was the first person elected, receiving nearly 27 per cent of first preference votes.

She was followed by returning councillor Bill West and Geoff Neil. They received 18.65 and 16.18 per cent of first preference votes.

East ward councillors Henry Bleeck and Natasha Gayfer weren’t re-elected.

In South ward, two new councillors and a former councillor have been elected, after sitting councillors Mandi Mees, Helen Radnedge and Andrew Twaits did not stand for re-election.

Former councillor Rob Guthrie was the first person elected to represent South ward after receiving more than 28 per cent of first preference vote.

Cr Guthrie served as a South ward councillor from 2003-2012.

Dominic Bonanno and Anne Moore were also elected in to represent the South ward.

In West ward, former mayor and sitting councillor Jennifer Anderson was the first candidate elected. She received nearly 17 per cent of first preference votes.

Two-time mayor Janet Pearce was also re-elected and long-time Macedon Ranges resident Mark Ridgeway was voted in.

The new councillor group were sworn in at a ceremony on Monday. The mayor will be elected on Monday, November 23 and the new council’s first meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, November 25.

In Hume, there is a new look Jacksons Creek ward, with only one councillor returning.

Jack Medcraft was re-elected for his fourth term in council, receiving 18.6 per cent of first preference votes.

First-time candidate and longtime Sunbury SES member Jarrod Bell was also voted in.

Trevor Dance will join councillors Medcraft and Bell in Jacksons Creek Ward after receiving 13 per cent of first preference votes.

Cr Ann Potter, who was seeking a sixth term on council wasn’t re-elected.

Leigh Johnson didn’t stand for re-election.

In the Aitken Ward, two-time mayor Carly Moore, returning councillors Jodi Jackson and Joseph Haweil and first-time councillor Jim Overend were elected to council.

Returning councillors Naim Kurt and Karen Sherry and first-time councillors Sam Misho and Chris Hollow will represent the Meadow Valley ward.