Shining a light on First Nations stroke heroes

Stroke Foundation Executive Director of Public Affairs and Media Sarah Meredith. (Provided)

Nominations are now open for the 2024 Stroke Foundation Stroke Awards, including to Sunbury and Macedon Ranges residents.

Stroke Foundation is “thrilled” to add a new category to the 2024 Stroke Foundation Stroke Awards with a focus on the indigenous community.

The award recognises excellence in stroke prevention, treatment, recovery or research in First Nations communities.

Stroke Foundation Executive Director of Public Affairs and Media Sarah Meredith said the new award aims to highlight the impact of individuals and organisations working to achieve health equity within the First Nations sphere.

“I’m so thrilled that we are able to recognise those in the stroke community who are doing amazing things to enhance and demonstrate there is life after stroke,” she said.

“We are so lucky to have so many inspirational members of our community who make the future brighter for people impacted by stroke.”

A stroke strikes the brain and can change lives in an instant. It is one of Australia’s biggest killers and a leading cause of disability. There are more than 445,000 people with stroke living in our community.

Ms Meredith said this year’s awards were an opportunity to celebrate the courage, creativity and achievements of the stroke community.

“If you know someone who has demonstrated courage in their recovery, artistic talent after stroke, fundraising flair or has made any other significant contribution to improving the lives of people with stroke, then tell us about them so we can celebrate them,” she said.

“We encourage nominations from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and people from culturally and linguistically diverse communities.”

The eight award categories this year are the Stroke Warrior Award, Courage Award, Creative Award, Fundraiser of the Year Award, Improving Life after Stroke Award, Volunteer of the Year Award, First Nations Stroke Excellence Award and President’s Achievement Award.

Nominations close on February 24. The winners will be announced at Stroke Foundation’s Stroke Awards ceremony in Melbourne on May 3.