Nominations open for the Honour Role of Women

(Garon Piceli via Pexels)

The state government is calling for nominations of women who have made outstanding contributions to Victoria, including those from Sunbury and Macedon Ranges, for induction into the Victorian Honour Roll of Women, with nominations now open until May 5.

Minister for Women Natalie Hutchins opened nominations for 2024 on March 18, with women of all ages, experience, backgrounds and fields able to be put forward to be recognised and celebrated as part of the Victorian Honour Roll program.

“The Victorian Honour Roll of Women is providing a real opportunity for women already achieving great things to have an even greater impact,” she said.

“The almost 750 Honour Roll inductees serve as inspiring role models for women across Victoria, as we strive for gender equality in our workplaces and across our society.

“I’d encourage all Victorians to take note of the nominations link and put forward a woman they know who is having an incredible impact on their own communities.”

Since it began in 2001, almost 750 women from across the state have been inducted into the roll for their contributions to fields including science, art, environment, law, social justice, research, health, media and education.

Last year’s Honour Roll inductees included former Australian Sex Discrimination Commissioner Kate Jenkins and world-leading researcher into malaria and infectious diseases Wai-Hong Tham.

Two former inductees, Monash Emeritus Professor Marilyn Fleer and Aishwarya Kansakar, first met at the Victorian Honour Roll of Women induction ceremony in 2022.

They have since gone on to collaborate on a world-first initiative that engages young girls and pre-school children with STEM concepts. The initiative will be rolling out at pre-schools across Victoria from later this year.

The government is asking for community members to nominate women who were either born in Victoria, who have spent a considerable part of their life here, or who have made a significant contribution to our state, so that their outstanding and lasting contributions can be recognised.