Calling all landcare champions

The landcare awards have nine categories (Landcare Australia).

In a world facing unprecedented environmental challenges, the 2023-24 state and territory landcare awards serve as a beacon of hope and recognition for those dedicated to safeguarding precious landscapes.

The landcare awards are now open for nominations, and aim to recognise the outstanding contributions made by individuals, groups and organisations involved in landcare, including those in Sunbury and Macedon Ranges.

Landcare Australia chief executive Dr Shane Norrish said the awards shine a light on landcare’s greatest asset.

“Landcare represents the strength of people from all walks of life working together for a common purpose- to protect and manage our vital agricultural lands and natural environment,” Dr Norrish said.

“The awards shine a light on… the diverse range of people involved in landcare activities responding to local issues.

“Whether it’s their dedication to preserving the natural landscape, their commitment to their communities, or their leadership in the agricultural sector.

“These accomplishments remind us that the spirit of hands-on environmental stewardship that underpins the landcare movement is stronger than ever before.”

Landcare continues to bring thousands of people together in communities across Australia, to unite for a common purpose- preserving, protecting, collaborating and innovating to restore and protect our natural assets.

In the wake of global climate challenges and natural disasters like drought, bushfires and floods, landcare has never been so important.

Each state and territory has multiple landcare award categories, recognising Australians who actively engage in climate action and work to create healthier, more resilient and productive landscapes and resilient communities.

The landcare awards program acknowledges the diverse range of individuals and organisations committed to addressing local environmental issues.

From volunteers and farmers, to landholders, landcare groups, First Nations people, the next generation of landcarers, and environmental community groups.

The landcare award categories include:

– Australian government climate innovation award

– Australian government sustainable agriculture landcare award

– Australian government individual landcarer award

– Australian government community partnerships landcare award

– Coastcare award

– First Nations landcare collaboration award

– Women in landcare award

– NextGen landcare award

– Woolworths junior landcare award